It’s You for Me

Hey, I think

I may want to spend

the rest of my life with you.

 

For the way you flirt,

it works with me,

Wherever with you,

I feel I belong.

 

I don’t have to rattle

my mind for wittier diction,

for your contended smile

seems inspired enough by my daily wit.

 

Your need for space and intimacy

seems workable.

 

Your sporadic

public displays of affection

catch me off guard,

in a very flattering way,

for sometimes even I can’t get enough of you.

 

Your behavior is now

somewhat predictable,

and that’s a good thing because

it saves me a lot of anxiety.

 

I know that we are somehow intimidated

by so much that we know

of each other’s scars and mothers,

but I am ready to live with the risk

of you holding that knowledge

against me at times

than to live without knowing the rest of you.

 

With Love

Shivani Ahuja

 

P.S. – A shout out to Poets United for the platform they provide for so many poets and readers to get together and celebrate their love for poetry.

and also, this is my 50th Post (yeyee..!!) , so thank you all for being part of this journey of our common love for written words..

4 thoughts on “It’s You for Me

  1. Varun Rathi

    Behind every exquisite poem there must have been something, but this one has struck me.The scintillating words are playing in my mind reminding me of zillion moments.In love with this poem 🙂

    Reply
  2. Aniket Thakkar

    “I don’t have to rattle
    my mind for wittier diction,
    for your contended smile
    seems inspired enough by my daily wit.”

    I can SO relate to this. I have this constant urge to keep trying to come up with these one liners to try and win affection of those I have an inclination to impress. Yet, if anyone were to ask me – “What’s the end goal?” I’d probably say – To reach a point where either She leaves me speechless, or at least puts my brain on the backseat and makes the words flow…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

