A Smile For No Reason

I wake up,

stretch like a lazy cat in my bed,

and welcome my day with a smile for no reason.

 

I brush my teeth,

checkout myself in the mirror,

and flatter myself with a smile for no reason.

 

I read the newspaper,

say thanks to mom for the bowl of cereal.

She ruffles my hair with a smile for no reason.

 

I reach my office,

open the door to Mrs. frosty.

Though she looks obliged but she smiles for no reason.

 

He croons hello,

Mr Hotiie, the Analyst.

I laugh out loud and keep a daylong smile for no reason.

 

I pitch my work

to my boss in an hour.

He trashes it all with an empathetic smile and a reason.

 

I leave from work.

The kid in the next car

makes my day with an innocent smile for no reason.

 

I meet my friends

at a place not far.

We share a drink and reasons to smile for no reason.

 

I head home tired,

have food with my family.

My brother winks and gives his knowing smile for no reason.

 

Then I crawl to my bed,

crash and drift to sleep,

And what remains in my dreams is a smile for no reason.

 

With Love

Shivani Ahuja

I am doing a 30 Days series of Poems on ‘Humanity’.. This is my poem for Day 8 (Will soon post the poems for the days missed)

I am trying to be part of NaPoWriMo. This poem skips the day’s prompt, but I hope you all enjoy it.

One thought on “A Smile For No Reason

  1. Manav

    Weldone Shivani ahujha, well written, Contact me. wanna expose you and your imagination to all over the world.

    RJ Manav

    Reply

Leave a Reply

