‘a CASUAL sunday walk’

On just a casual Sunday morning

I casually decide to take a walk down the street.

 

Casually I walk out of my house,

walk into a pile of trash

Oh, must have been my fault!

Right outside my door is obviously where

it could have been dumped

coz the dustbin across the street is clearly overflowing!

 

Then casually I saunter down the sidewalk

Almost trip over a boulder.

How silly of me!

I should have remembered or noticed

the last month’s ‘Under Repair’ sign still standing intact.

After all, a ‘little’ delay isn’t a crime.

 

I gain my balance

and casually head to the other side of the road,

fall flat on my Face!

Alas! where was my attention?

I TOTALLY forgot about the ever dug pot holes.

Who doesn’t walk carefully after it has rained?

 

I stand up, brush my clothes, sulk a little

then try to casually concentrate on the pleasant sunny day.

Kids playing happily and animatedly beside that open sewer,

Birds chirping away to glory on the clutter of loosely hanging wires,

Cars skillfully parked amidst the fallen trees.

The world certainly seems wonderful!

 

I walk back home

Remembering to jump and hop my way back

Not so condescending!

RESPECTING the nature and state of things,

Make home in a single piece!

After all, isn’t All well that ends well’?

 

And again, on the next casual Sunday morning

I very casually decide to walk down the SAME STREET!

 

With Love

Shivani Ahuja

 

I am doing a 30 Days series of Poems on ‘Humanity’.. This is my poem for Day 13 (Will soon post the poems for the days missed)

This poem is inspired by NaPoWriMo‘s prompt of writing a poem about any kind of observations made. Here, I speak about poor state of civic amenities even in the urban cities of India. In future, I will try to write about the non-existence of even the basic amenities in certain parts of the country.

One thought on “‘a CASUAL sunday walk’

  1. Pingback: A Prayer to Live and Let Live | ashivani

Leave a Reply

