Lost Prudence

Every day, my heart kneels in a hopeful prayer, pleading courage to listen to my conscience, to erase my guilt and to live without fear.

For on those brutal winter nights I wonder if it is my indifference or my lazy conscience that keeps me from extending the warmth of my spare blanket.

After a hearty meal sometimes, my guilt robs me off the pleasure, for I know I can provide for an extra serving, and I don’t.

My helplessness often cries in the rain, for it knows that I am cowering behind my conveniences and not manning up.

My healthy body finds itself limp for it does not try to lift the burden of an illness from the empty hands of an ailing man.

My wisdom feels lost when my so called rational being shows utter inability to provide for a meaningful education.

My reasons demand exile when they can no more live under the gloom of my inordinate vanity snubbing all fairness.

And then again my thwarted heart kneels in a hopeful prayer, calling to my compassion to lend a helping hand, to heed to my inner voice and stand up to my reasons.

With Love

Shivani Ahuja

 

I am doing a 30 Days series of Poems on ‘Humanity’.. This is my poem for Day 1

My inspiration to take up this project is NaPoWriMo. I might not be able to follow all their prompts, but I will try to be as close to them as possible. Thanks to their wonderful team for motivating and inspiring so many people around the world.

I hope you all can identify and relate to my work, for that is the greatest appreciation a writer can get..

6 thoughts on “Lost Prudence

  1. Mary

    I do think sometimes it is hard to live up to our own standards….and it is so easy to condemn ourselves for our failings.

    Reply
  2. Stormcat

    Be of good cheer, your imperfection is what makes your living this life perfect. You are here to awaken within yourself the realization of your nature. Overcome your weaknesses and they will become your strengths.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

