Honest Lie

You said the world is filled with wonders,

that every soul is filled with love.

 

You said that I could travel the shores,

unbound and see the world of lore.

 

You said we all are brothers and sisters,

that I should share my house and bread.

 

You said that life will be my teacher,

that I will be bestowed wisdom on the way.

 

But you dint say the wonders were possessed and hidden,

you dint say the love was biased and selfish.

 

You dint say the shores were watched and guarded

the world is marked with unnatural borders.

 

You dint say my sisters and brothers wouldn’t acknowledge me

that I will be nobbled off what I intended to share.

 

Yes you did say that life will be my teacher,

But so will be the wisdom, I never did pray.

 

With Love

Shivani Ahuja

 

I am doing a 30 Days series of Poems on ‘Humanity’.. This is my poem for Day 2

It is inspired by NaPoWriMo‘s promt of ‘a poem that is a lie’. I hope you all like it.

2 thoughts on “Honest Lie

Leave a Reply

